Expozine 2010

Posted by operator x On December - 10 - 2010

OK, so it was a pretty fun weekend though i got nailed by the flue after all that.

Fist i want to say thanks to Nadia Moss for the loan of her wheels when i thought i’d left my stove on – it was all good in the end and i was able to grab my forgotten lunch too. Nice ride as well. Wish i’d had the presence of mind in all the chaos to go by her table when i was shooting clips, she was presenting some nice prints. Check out her stuff on flickr and this strange little video she did with Automatic Vaudeville.

As i mentioned in my fist post when I was stuck on the stage I had horrid sales. Managed to move to a great spot on the main floor day 2 and it made a hell of a difference! Easily three times as many copies of Dream Life sold along with several other books I brought. That helped a lot but the slow day one – normally i do better day one and a little less day two – means over all this was not really a very profitable expozine for me – covered my expenses but it could have been better had i gotten there early day one.

That sucked and so did getting sick. Gave me time to edit the video i took though. Sorry for the crappy sound, mostly could not be helped, cheep camera. Will upgrade some time when i have the spare cash.

So i shot a two part tour of event, talked to a lot of people, and below the clips here i’m posting links to as many as i can manage.

Part 1
Marc Taro Holmes posted the painting he’s doing at the start of the clip here http://tarosan.wordpress.com Jack Ruttan posted his own clip of Expozine stuff, see that here. http://www.youtube.com Jacques Boivin links http://lambiek.net http://www.chezjacques.ca The trippy prints of drawings of urban landscapes next to him were by http://umlautdesign.net Way Magazine by Jennifer Hamilton http://www.jenniferhamilton.com The Parti Rhinocéros, Rhinoceros Party of Canada http://www.neorhino.ca F. A. Nettelbeck’s new book : Happy Hour http://fanettelbeck.blogspot.com Colon White http://www.colinwhitecomix.com Kristen Mccrea http://www.hellokristen.com http://www.papirmasse.com Poètes de Brousse http://www.poetesdebrousse.org Looper Projects – Allison Moore http://www.looper.ca Valerie Sury http://www.valeriesury.com http://www.lakesidegalleries.com Profile on the National Post site Frank Fournier – Détritus http://zinedetritus.blogspot.com Lickety Split smut zine http://www.licketysplitzine.com WORN Fashion Journal http://www.wornjournal.com Robin Enrico, from Brooklyn, NY! http://www.robinenrico.com MK REED http://toot.mkreed.com Matt Reichmann online http://mattreichmann.carbonmade.com http://mattreichmann.deviantart.com http://www.myspace.com And a look at NU comix on facebook http://www.facebook.com grab it at the Concordia co-op bookstore http://www.co-opbookstore.ca
Part 2
Doug Wright Award nominated artist, John Martz! http://johnmartz.com Aaron Costain http://aaroncostain.com Dean Garlick (Anteism) http://anteism.com Erik Volet’s art http://anteism.com Ivan Klipstein – of The Auroratones http://www.myspace.com Sherwin “sully” Tjia ["i'm drunk man, i can't, i can't...] http://www.conundrumpress.com http://hiplessboy.blogspot.com http://pedigreegirls.blogspot.com http://stripspellingbee.blogspot.com http://slowdancenight.blogspot.com Conundrum Press table http://www.conundrumpress.com Daniel Ha http://www.dvhstudios.com Véhicule Press table http://www.vehiculepress.com Matrix Magazine table http://www.matrixmagazine.org Kim Hoang of the Love Love Hill Collective http://petitfolio.evilsmile.net Freelance Blues table http://freelanceblues.com Wonderfuls table http://dom2d.squarespace.com
Eric Theriault http://mistertheriault.blogspot.com Emilio Esteban http://mistermouth.blogspot.com Plan B, Université du Québec en Outaouais comic’s program’s student anthology. http://www.uqo.ca Fanzinothèque table http://www.fanzino.org New Escapologist http://newescapologist.co.uk Robert Wringham http://wringham.co.uk Shanti’s Book of Panties By Samara Leibner http://www.lulu.com Samara Leibner http://www.samaraleibner.ca Jasper http://monastiraki.blogspot.com http://www.youtube.com Jesse Bochner http://www.strawpixel.com http://immediateproductions.blogspot.com the Drawn & Quarterly table http://www.drawnandquarterly.com the anteism table http://anteism.com Jimmy Beaulieu http://jimmybeaulieu.com http://www.conundrumpress.com
and i lost track after that!

View full post on ~ a short account of endeavors ~

VIDEO

TAG CLOUD

Transmission X

TRANSMISSION X (TX) is a collective of professional illustrators and cartoonists who are united by their desire to produce top-flight comics. Recognizing the potential of the internet to be a primary source of art and entertainment, and motivated by their interest in producing exciting, personal work free from commercial and editorial constraint, the artists of TX have all worked to create some of the highest-quality comics yet seen on the web.

Twitter Feed

    Flickr

    Full image of the cover to my #FARSCAPE mini-comic available with the upcoming 15th anniversary bluray box set. Being a big fan of the series this was truly a joy to do. #ramonperez #comic #henson #coverJust for fun on a rainy day. Burned out from #fanexpo, so I'm doodling my Armadillo submission for #Marvel Universe Redux. #comics #pencils #theraidstudiouploadSome fun things are on the horizon... #graphicnovel #archaia #excited#6gg #boom #cover #comics #pencilsStrangely, one of my favourite panels that I've drawn for W&X28. #wolverineandthexmen #pencils #comicsSimplicity. #wolverineandthexmen #pencils #comicsWolverine's had better days... #wolverineandthexmen #comics #inkingKid Apocalypses dance card is full. #inking #wolverineandthexmenA pensive Kid Apocalypse #wolverineandthexmen #inkingTwo books closer to completing my Mike Shayne collection. Not McGinnis covers, but still pretty sweet. #pulp #mikeshayne #crimeStorm. #wolverineandthexmen #pencilling #comics

    Powered by WP Robot